They must not be attached to any political parties

President of Dewan Negara also President of MIC
KUALA LUMPUR: Datuk Mohamad Ariff Md Yusof (pic) had relinquished his posts in Parti Amanah Negara a day before his name was proposed to Dewan Rakyat as the new Speaker.

Have three senators for each state: Vigneswaran

Mohamad Ariff quit from Amanah before Speaker submission